Awards Season Feature Post

Awards Season 2015-16 Scoreboard

Carol Keeping a tally of the (wins/nominations) for this year's awards season. Scroll down way below to see which Awards are being...

Feb 22, 2015

Independent Spirit Awards 2015

Birdman, Boyhood, Nightcrawler and Whiplash were the big winners at the Independent Spirit Awards last night. The Indie Spirits are the last awards before the big one and they claim to honor the best in independent filmmaking. In fact, they are just 'dress rehearsals' for the Oscars as one of the critics put it on Twitter. They really have become one in the last few years, you can't blame them though, every award ceremony wants to be the Oscars and award the winners for them. You can see that here with all the talk of a Boyhood and Birdman split that they went for exactly that. "Birdman" won best picture as well as best cinematography and Michael Keaton won best male lead for the film. "Boyhood" on the other hand was awarded with two awards, Richard Linklater won best director while Patricia Arquette won best supporting actress for the film. A film that should have been more celebrated at the Oscars, "Nightcrawler" was given best screenplay and best first feature. "Whiplash" won best editing over Boyhood and also its supporting star J.K. Simmons won as well. The rest of the bunch were the obvious. Of course Justin Simien won best first screenplay for "Dear White People" and there were some special awards handed out to two films.

Below is the full list of winners:

Best Feature:

Best Director:
Richard Linklater, Boyhood

Best Male Lead:
Michael Keaton, Birdman

Best Female Lead:
Julianne Moore, Still Alice

Best Supporting Male:
J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Best Supporting Female:
Patricia Arquette, Boyhood

Best Screenplay:
Dan Gilroy, Nightcrawler

Best International Film:
Ida (Poland)

Best Documentary:

Best Editing:
Tom Cross, Whiplash

Best Cinematography:
Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman

Best First Feature:

Best First Screenplay:
Justin Simien, Dear White People

John Cassavetes Award:
Land Ho!

Robert Altman Award:
Inherent Vice

Special Distinction Award: