Awards Season Feature Post

Awards Season 2015-16 Scoreboard

Carol Keeping a tally of the (wins/nominations) for this year's awards season. Scroll down way below to see which Awards are being...

May 27, 2013

Cannes 2013: Blue Is The Warmest Colour wins Palme d'Or.

I haven't been quite active on my blog this year unfortunately and i missed doing Cannes 2013 coverage which is very important to me. I regret it but still trying my best to come back to my regular maddening and obsessive routine. To start things off, the winners were just announced for the main prizes at Cannes. I have been following every review, tweet, news etc because Cannes is a royalty and they always get great movies to screen, so many stars are there and its definitely the biggest celebration for World Cinema that we get to see. This year's jury was a stunner! Led by Steven Spielberg and included Daniel Auteuil, Vidya Balan, Naomi Kawase, Ang Lee, Nicole Kidman, Cristian Mungiu, Lynne Ramsay and Christoph Waltz. The prestigious Palme d'Or was awarded to the French movie "Blue is the Warmest Colour", its always awarded to the director of course but a different move was taken this time and both the stars of the movie were awarded an honorary Palm as well. This is a French epic length drama that features its lead Adele Exarchopoulos and Lea Seydoux as two girls exploring there sexuality. In other words, its a Lesbian drama. After the impressive response it got from critics there, many hailing it as a masterpiece and the best movie in competition, i was quite sure it will win the main prize. But its jury who decides in the end not critics so i had my doubts still. The movie was the talk of the town thanks to its lengthy explicit sex scenes, glad that jury/critics saw much greatness beyond all that. I am now really looking forward to watch it.

The Grand Prix which is like 2nd best film went to my 2nd most anticipated film of the year, "Inside Llewyn Davis" by Coen Brothers. While the Jury Prize or the 3rd best film went to "Like Father, Like Son" which was considered by many to be in Spielberg's territory so a Palm upset was expected. Screenplay and Directing prizes went to "A Touch of Sin" and "Heli", the latter one is shocking for me while the former one is surprising. I was hoping that both these prizes might go to Soderbergh, Coens, Farhadi, Sorrentino etc but alas! This is the second year when the directing award went to the booed/notorious/bold movie, last year being "Post Tenebras Lux". I guess the most daring and experimental directing achievement will be winning from now on. Talking about the two acting prizes, Berenice Bejo and Bruce Dern won for "The Past" and "Nebraska" respectively. Bejo got superb praise and was a shoe-in until Adele Exarchopoulos started getting praise as well but it went to Bejo afterall. I am happy for Bruce Dern deep down but the reviews i read didn't really praised his performance as something great. I was hoping Michael Douglas would win for "Behind the Candelabra" but that didn't happen. The movie itself along with few other buzzed films like "La Grande Bellezza" and "Borgman" didn't win anything.

I really enjoyed following the festival (online that is of course) because there were more good movies than underwhelming (talking about last year's Hollywood mishap). Now all i really want to do is catch up with these movies when they get released.

Below is the complete list of the winners:-

Competition Winners

Palme d'Or:
Blue Is the Warmest Colour by Abdellatif Kechiche (Honorary Palme d'Or: Adele Exarchopoulos and Lea Seydoux)

Grand Prix:
Inside Llewyn Davis by Joel & Ethan Coen
Jury Prize: Like Father, Like Son by Hirokazu Koreeda
Best Director: Amat Escalante for Heli
Best Screenplay: Jia Zhangke for A Touch of Sin
Best Actor: Bruce Dern for Nebraska
Best Actress: Berenice Bejo for The Past

Un Certain Regard Winners

Prize of Un Certain Regard: The Missing Picture by Rithy Panh
Un Certain Regard Special Jury Prize: Omar by Hany Abu-Assad
Un Certain Regard Best Director: Alain Guiraudie for Stranger by the Lake
Talent Award: Ensemble cast of La Jaula de Oro
Avenir Future Award: Fruitvale Station


In Competition: Blue Is the Warmest Colour by Abdellatif Kechiche
Un Certain Regard: Manuscripts Don't Burn by Mohammad Rasoulof
Directors' Fortnight: Blue Ruin by Jeremy Saulnier

Ecumenical Jury

Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: The Past by Asghar Farhadi
Honorable Mentions: Miele by Valeria Golino and Like Father, Like Son by Hirokazu Koreeda

Directors' Fortnight

Art Cinema Award: Me, Myself and Mum by Guillaume Gallienne
Prix SACD: Me, Myself and Mum by Guillaume Gallienne
European Cinemas Label Award: The Selfish Giant by Clio Barnard
Premier Prix Illy for Short Filmmaking: A Wild Goose Chase by Joao Nicolau
Special Mention: About a Month by Andre Novais Oliveira

Critics’ Week

Grand Prize: Salvo
Special Mention: Agustin Toscano, Ezequiel Radusky, Los Duenos
Visionary Award: Fabio Grassadonia, Antonio Piazza, Salvo
Best Screenplay: Sebastien Pilote, Le Demantlement

Queer Palm Jury

Queer Palm Award: Stranger by the Lake by Alain Guiraudie

Palm Dog Jury

Palm Dog Award: Baby Boy in Behind the Candelabra