Awards Season Feature Post

Awards Season 2015-16 Scoreboard

Carol Keeping a tally of the (wins/nominations) for this year's awards season. Scroll down way below to see which Awards are being...

Dec 11, 2012

Washington DC Area Film Critics Awards 2012.

Washington DC Area Film Critics announced their winners today with Zero Dark Thirty winning Picture, Director (Kathryn Bigelow) and Lead Actress (Jessica Chastain). In the remaining three acting categories, Daniel Day-lewis won for Lincoln, Philip Seymour Hoffman won for The Master while Anne Hathaway won for Les Miserables. I am really happy to see Looper winning Best Original Screenplay second time this year. The winners here largely followed the same arc, Silver Linings Playbook won for Adapted Screenplay which is something Lincoln has been winning a lot.

Below is the full list of winners:

Best Film
Zero Dark Thirty

Best Director
Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Actor
Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Supporting Actor
Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)

Best Supporting Actress
Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables)

Best Original Screenplay
Rian Johnson (Looper)

Best Adapted Screenplay
David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

Best Animated Feature

Best Foreign Language Film

Best Cinematography
Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)

Best Art Direction
Rebecca Alleway, Hugh Bateup, Uli Hanisch and Peter Walpole (Cloud Atlas)

Best Score
Jonny Greenwood (The Master)

Best Documentary

Best Acting Ensemble
Les Miserables

Best Youth Performance
Quvenzhane Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)