Awards Season Feature Post

Awards Season 2015-16 Scoreboard

Carol Keeping a tally of the (wins/nominations) for this year's awards season. Scroll down way below to see which Awards are being...

Dec 24, 2012

Nevada Film Critics Society Awards 2012.

Nevada Film Critics Society awarded Argo with the best picture prize. Recently since the Zero Dark Thirty's so called "torture scenes" controversy heated up, many of the critics group aren't giving it the main prize anymore. Or is it really because they think Argo is great? Then why the "other" political thriller of the year? Is it because it paints a better and more likable picture? For whatever the reasons are, Argo seems to be catching up a lot faster then i would have thought. Though the best director prize went to both Affleck and Bigelow so that is nice. This critics group sure loved The Sessions as they awarded John Hawkes and Helen Hunt (again in lead rather than in supporting) also tying with Jennifer Lawrence.

Below is the complete list of winners:

Best Film

Best Director
(Tie) Ben Affleck (Argo)
Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Actor
John Hawkes (The Sessions)

Best Actress
(Tie) Helen Hunt (The Sessions)
Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)

Best Supporting Actor
Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln)

Best Supporting Actress
Sally Field (Lincoln)

Best Animated Movie

Best Cinematography
Life of Pi

Best Production Design
Les Miserables

Best Visual Effects
Life of Pi

Best Ensemble Cast

Best Youth Performance
Tom Holland (The Impossible)